The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Question regarding compression and expansion while tracking drums?
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Maniac

Question regarding compression and expansion while tracking drums?

Excuse me in advance if this is a dumb question. I am just learning all this and want to understand a few things.

What do you guys think of compressor vs expansion vs neither on drum tracking? And high pass / low cut filtering? And if you think any are usable, what are your views on which drums / mics to use any of it on and which not to?

I am new to all this so still learning how it all works.

I would presume that an expander MIGHT be useful to minimize bleed if talking about drums, whereas a compressor would bring up the bleed you don't want. On the other hand it might be able to even out or thicken a snare or kick sound? I know it could be good for a room mic to bring up room tone at least. Maybe...

So far I only understand the basics of how comp/exp work. I don't even know what would happen if you team them up together. For example, if you expand to minimize bleed and noise, then compress, would that just undo the expansion? And vice versa?

Or would there be a good way to expand to limit noise, then compress the parts you do want to even them out even more and bring up what you want to bring up? And would this all be better done in the mix anyway?

I am sure there are many ways to do this, thinking logically, but not sure what the best way would be. Or would this be a dumb idea anyway and better not to bother at the tracking stage?

This is all assuming you want to record pretty separated drums to have a lot of stereo panning and widening options when mixing. Recording in a far from ideal room too, so maybe dead and separate is better than having a band room sound, at least you can build from a dry set of tracks.