The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
is Gullfoss helpful for beginners?
Old 9th September 2019
Gear Nut

is Gullfoss helpful for beginners?

As a beginner, I typically add some EQ to my masters and still they just don't have the clarity or character I'm searching for. I want to try Gullfoss, but I see there are no presets. And though experienced producers always say "just use your ears," I'm nowhere near simply getting by on my ears. I actually do learn a ton from studying presets.

So—as a beginner, is playing with settings like "Recover" and "Tame" going to be instructive enough? Will Gullfoss give me enough of a baseline idea of what I'm trying to accomplish or will it be no more helpful than just using the Channel EQ in Logic?

Also is there a shortcut kind of "analyser" in Gullfoss that will use the AI to add the settings it thinks I need or is it still all about manually tweaking settings until it sounds right?
Old 10th September 2019
Gear Maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by deern View Post
As a beginner, I typically add some EQ to my masters and still they just don't have the clarity or character I'm searching for. I want to try Gullfoss, but I see there are no presets. And though experienced producers always say "just use your ears," I'm nowhere near simply getting by on my ears. I actually do learn a ton from studying presets.
If you consider trying Gullfoss, you should just do it. Avoiding it because it doesn't have presets really does not make much sense. Gullfoss has been designed to work with simple parameters. And you will be able to use your ears to judge the result, because the parameters are much more natural and well-behaving than for your average plugin.