The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Anyone willing to rip into my mix?
Old 24th August 2019
Gear Maniac

Anyone willing to rip into my mix?

Hey guys. The audio on this video is my first time mixing a full band recording.

Is anyone willing to critique it? Don't worry you can slam it, I am not self-conscious about it, hahah. I am fully aware that I am not an audio engineer, but I need to be told what I can improve in order to learn to be able to take on that role sometimes when I need to.

It is obviously a live recording, not a studio recording, so recording conditions were far from ideal, however I did the best I could with no prior knowledge in order to try to make it sound acceptable for the video.

If it's of any interest, it was literally recorded straight through my sound engineer's Behringer XR18 (it's all we had at our disposal), in fact the whole gig was run off that into a pair of PA speakers!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZXzJ5DOhqvM

PS - Further info. I mixed this on headphones. Sony MDR-7506. Yes, I also know that is far from ideal, but I can't afford monitors yet. I will as soon as I can. I just did what I could with what I had and if there is anything to learn from this process I am open to hearing it. I used Logic and kept things pretty basic.

Thanks very much.
Old 24th August 2019
Gear Maniac

By the way, the only comments I have had from people I know so far that resembled any sort of criticism were one saying the bass is too low and the other saying the bass is too high (funny how they're so polar opposite and yet nobody focused on anything aside from that). And then one other guy saying that the mix was a bit dry.