The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Scarlett 2i2 question
Old 3 weeks ago
Here for the gear
Scarlett 2i2 question

Hey, I bought this as my very first audio interface, I'm very new to this stuff so please don't bash me :-D

In Guitar Rig 5 I've been getting this annoying latency, been tweaking the buffer size and whatnot and managed to get it down to 3.5ms but it's still too much, throws me off.

I'm playing the audio from my cheapish speakers that are connected to my PC.
I'm not an expert but heard that in order to reduce the latency it would be better to have either separate monitors hooked up straight to the audio interface (the Scarlett in this case). Any thoughts? Thanks in advance
Old 3 weeks ago
Gear Head
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matias1995 View Post
In Guitar Rig 5 I've been getting this annoying latency... I'm playing the audio from my cheapish speakers that are connected to my PC.
Short answer - yes, plug the speakers (or some headphones) into your Scarlett!

You'll need to make sure Guitar Rig is set to output to the Scarlett / ASIO, not your internal computer sound output. If you're using the standalone Guitar Rig app on Windows, go into the File -> Audio And MIDI Settings menu, set the Driver to ASIO and the Device to Focusrite USB Audio. I think I personally get best performance with the Sample Rate set to 96000 there.

Also if you're on Windows, you can have all the Windows audio output to the Scarlett by right-clicking on the speaker icon at the bottom of the screen in your taskbar, Open Sound Settings, and make sure "Choose your sound output" is set to Focusrite USB. But double check your audio programs as sometimes they use their own output settings instead.