The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Preamp or not preamp? (going a little bit OTB?)
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Preamp or not preamp? (going a little bit OTB?)

Hello slutz.

I'm a musician, and I've been sketching some music in the last few years (piano, hw+sw synths, voice, acoustic guitar, samples, percussions and drum machines), learning some basic recording and mixing "techniques" at the same time.

I'm recording and mixing 100% ITB, my actual setup is:

- MacBook Pro, running Ableton Live
- RME FireFace UC

- RE-20, which I like, as my "mic for everything" (voice, acoustic guitar and various stuff)

- Prophet rev2 (totally in love with it, covers 80% of my poly-synth needs)
- Minitaur (covers 80% of my bass needs)
- Analog Rytm (covers 50% of my rhythmical needs, while the remaining 50% is covered by programming drums directly ITB often with stereo samples, which AR can't handle with ease)

- Monark (for when I'm travelling without my Minitaur or when I need one or two octaves more)
- Razor (when I need to program some "modern" stuff)
- Kontakt (for playing some great world-instruments libraries when needed)
- Repro 5 (which I use for "warm" stuff when I need to reach places where my rev2's filter can't get)

- ValhallaRoom + VV as my only reverbs
- ValhallaDelay (replacing my old EchoBoy, which I don't use anymore) for every delay need + Waves H-Delay for when I need a sample go-to delay
- ValhallaUberMod for my modulation needs

- Waves REq as my main and only EQ + Q10 for surgical needs
- REComp as my main compressor + C1 when I need to go hard-knee or more "clean" and digital + REVox for vocals

- Decapitator
- Waves REBass
- Waves REDeEsser
- Waves J37 (mostly for processing sound to get a fake lo-fi sound when needed)

My RE-20, my hw synths and the Rytm are going straight into the audio interface.
I have no outboard gear to process my audio signals or for tracking stuff.