The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Best settings to record live music with Zoom H4N Pro
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Best settings to record live music with Zoom H4N Pro

Hello everyone,

I am very new to recording and looking for any advice on what settings to use to record live music with the Zoom H4N Pro's inbuilt mics only; as I can’t afford any other equipment or connect to the soundboard. Volume often varies greatly (with some songs being played much louder than others, as well as big differences between music and speaking). I am unable to tell how loud the music will be until it has has started, so am having to guess the inputs. Therefore I am looking for any advice on what settings to use to avoid clipping without making the recording to quiet; as well as keep the volume as consistent as possible within songs. I also have these specific questions:

1. Should I use the inbuilt compressor or use audacity's post recording? - *I have tried with audacity but found it can lead to clipping with louder sections and doesn't increase quiet parts enough*

2. Does using the inbuilt compressor effect music quality?

3. If I use the compressor will it make the music uneven - *I know that sounds stupid but does the H4N Pro's compressor work well in practice with live music*

4. How will a compressor cope with sharp changes in volume (esp. from volume differences between songs and sudden loud special effects)

5. Should I use the limiter & compressor (esp. with events that use a lot of loud SFX) - *I tried just the limiter but had some sharp changes in volume within songs and still had a little clipping in the loudest parts, while the quieter parts came out very quiet.*

Thank you, any help is greatly appreciated

Last edited by AkatsukiWolf97; 4 weeks ago at 05:14 PM.. Reason: Typo in the title
Old 4 weeks ago
Quote:
Best settings to record live music with ZOOM H4N Pro