The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Behringer X32 and outboard FX - how to?
Old 19th August 2019
Behringer X32 and outboard FX - how to?

Hi all.
I'm pretty new to this X32 console (I got the "Producer" version). Now I'd like to understand what's going on and/or what I'm doing wrong when it comes to add outboard FX to it.

I connected my Strymon Big Sky to the X32 as follows:
Big Sky out (L/R) <--> X32 AUX IN 3/4
Big Sky in (L/R) <--> X32 AUX OUT 3/4

So now I got following:
Channel 8 is my SH-101.
For this channel, I use bus 5/6 to send.
Then I got AUX IN 3/4 which is the "main volume" for the Big Sky.

What I miss to unterstand is: why is the external FX working, when I got channel 8 slider down to infinite? I do hear both original "dry" sound and the added FX from the Big Sky, and when I pull up channel 8, the sound simply gets louder (sort of "doubling" the dry sound)?!

Any help will be very appreciated.

Thanks,
Flavio.
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Nut

Hi friend, I haven't read through the x32 manuals ever but this might be the issue.

Your set up is using Aux 3/4 out as FX send and Aux 3/4 IN as FX return.

In this case you most likely want to only reiceve the 100% wet signal from the FX unit.

You also probably want to set Aux send 3/4 to "POST FADER",

With Aux's set to Pre-fader, your channel fader will not change the volume sent to the FX unit.

If you FX unit is not set to 100% then you will hear 2 versions of the dry signal as you described.

1. Set your FX unit to 100% wet with the "mix" knob
2. Set Aux send 3/4 to "post fader"

Blessings!
Old 4 weeks ago
Hi DownTheLine - thanks for your help.
I was already thinking that it might have something to do with pre- and post-fader... but didn't realize how to configure it.

Now, on the Behringer X32 it's like this: