The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Choosing between these headphones for Mixing/Mastering
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Choosing between these headphones for Mixing/Mastering

Hey everyone, first timer here!

I'm trying to figure out what headphones to get in for mixing/mastering. I know it's not comparable to studio monitors but atm it's the only thing I can get. From what I've read there are a few quite cheap options that sound okay to work with.

- Beyerdynamic DT770 / DT990 Pro
- Audio-Technica ATH-M50X
- Sony MDR-7506
- Sennheiser HD-280

Would you recommend any of these to mix and master? If not, any other better options available? Bear in mind my budget is tight and logistics aren't great right now for me to get monitors.

Thank you in advance
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Addict

The only pair you've listed that I have extensive experience with are the AT-m50x, which I love for field production monitoring, for musicians in studio, and casual listening, but they'd be pretty hard to mix on. Whatever you choose, I definitely suggest doing the month long demo of Sonarworks headphone correction software. I didn't like it the first time I tried, but now I find it indispensable for mixing on headphones. I go back and forth between hd800 and m50x, but the vast majority of my headphone mixing is done on the hd800's. Don't forget to consider how comfortable each pair may be on your head and ears, especially if you'll be using them for long stretches of time.
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Definitely NOT the 280s. I have two pairs for tracking, and they're great for that. But they are not a headphone you'd want to mix on. Limited bass extension, and extremely tight - great for bleed, not great for extended use.

The pair I bought to spot-check my mixes on were the AKG 702s. Super comfy, and great value, as they've been around a while. Open back, which is kind of what you want.
Old 2 weeks ago