The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
500 Series Compressor recommendation for Violin
Old 3 weeks ago
Here for the gear
500 Series Compressor recommendation for Violin

Hi all.
I am very new to recording. I use an AEA r84 with an AEA rpq500 to record my violin/electric guitar for remote session work as well as my own little projects.

I've done a lot of sessions as a violinist/fiddler where they used some light comp to even out volume drops in my bow changes as well as to add some pop and color to the sound. I am looking to buy a 500 series unit that will impart the same mojo onto my tracks without being overly noticeable or squishy. For starters, do I want an Opto or a FET?

All recommendations are appreciated, thank you!

Last edited by Pjrvmg; 3 weeks ago at 02:20 PM.. Reason: Clarity
Old 3 weeks ago
Lives for gear

How about trying out different plug-ins (e.g. demos, if you don't want to purchase) and figure out a style that you like.

I would probably go into 1176-ballpark, since it has a "harshness taming" and "mid tightening" effect.

So perhaps:
-Lindell 7x-500
-API 525
-Hairball FET
-Or some other which is "1176-style"

Don't forget that plug-ins can also give you "mojo". It depends on the source and the particular plug-in.

E.g. Arturia's Comp FET-76 is very nice.
Old 3 weeks ago
Here for the gear
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundmodel View Post
How about trying out different plug-ins (e.g. demos, if you don't want to purchase) and figure out a style that you like.

I would probably go into 1176-ballpark, since it has a "harshness taming" and "mid tightening" effect.

So perhaps:
-Lindell 7x-500
-API 525
-Hairball FET
-Or some other which is "1176-style"

Don't forget that plug-ins can also give you "mojo". It depends on the source and the particular plug-in.

E.g. Arturia's Comp FET-76 is very nice.