The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Need advice on monitor placement
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear
Need advice on monitor placement

I have a guesthouse where I do most of my music production and would like to inquire on where the best place to mix is based on my current room specs (simple picture attached). There are only two places where I can put my setup but I would like some advice on which position is better for stereo accuracy and acoustics. Sound treatment is obviously the next step and I would like some advice on where to place bass traps and acoustic panels as well. I am relatively new to this stuff so feedback and constructive criticism will be much appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Need advice on monitor placement-mixing-positions-ghesthouse.jpg  
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Your best bet is to head over to the Studio Building and Acoustics forum: https://www.gearslutz.com/board/stud...ing-acoustics/

There's a lot of good reading material there, including a couple of sticky threads at the top of the list that will get you started (check out the "Acoustics/Treatment Reference Guide"). Unfortunately the seemingly simple question of "where should I put my monitors" can quickly get complex, but if you do some homework and narrow down your questions you should be able to get some good assistance. I'd also add a recommendation for the folks at GIK Acoustics - they were extremely helpful to me in my own setup process and got me to a good spot for less than I thought I'd have to spend.

Wishing you lots of good times in the space!
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear
Thank you will check those out
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear