The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Small Home Studio / Gear Configuration
Old 14th July 2019
Here for the gear

Small Home Studio / Gear Configuration

Hello! Thanks for taking the time to read my post, any input is greatly appreciated!

I would like some input on how best to connect this equipment for small home studio. I've tried various configurations but i'm fairly new to recording and would like to optimize the best i can.

Goal: I have a band and we meet up once a week. I've been recording the sessions on the Zoom H4n recorder and it sounds pretty good, but i would like to try and have an individual track for each person, as the Vocals and Bass a little quiet over the drums.

Equipment:
-Scarlet 2i2 Interface
-Zoom H4N Recoreder
-Boss RC-300 Loop Station
-Audio Technia 2034 / Shure sm58 / sm57
-Akai Midi Controller

Intended Inputs:
Guitar via SM57 mic
Bass via 1/4", AUX
Vocals via XLR
Drums via Overhead Mic or Re-tracking?

I only have 2 inputs on my interface, but I read that with the H4n recorder, you can record input 1 and 2 as stereo, and then split the .wav file into two separate mono tracks. Technically this would give me 4 individual tracks to mix with assuming i have two inputs into the 2i2 and two more from the H4n. Am i correct in this thinking?

I don't expect to get professional studio quality, but I believe i have to gear to make a pretty good sounding mix.

Thank you very much if you made it to the end of this!
Attached Thumbnails
Small Home Studio / Gear Configuration-img_2963-4.jpg  
Old 14th July 2019
Lives for gear
Two seperate input devices could be tricky to record in one go.
Can you select both in your DAW?
Do you want to sync the recordings later?
Old 14th July 2019
Here for the gear