The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
New to DAWs - using my live rig Soundcraft Mixer as USB I/O to MBP = toss it out?
Old 5th July 2019
Here for the gear

New to DAWs - using my live rig Soundcraft Mixer as USB I/O to MBP = toss it out?

I am very new to DAW recording. I'm running a MBP i7/2.7g/16gb/SSD500gb. Using GarageBand and upgrade to Logic soon as I see this work well enough to convince me to jump.

I have a Soundcraft Notepad Fx12 (mixer/USB interface) I'm using to hook a cpl of synths in, and take the audio out as well. I hook up my midi controller (old casio keybd) with a simple keyboard to $50 midi cable converter thingy.

My problem I imagine is latency. But it is different than I have experienced before - with delay bw activating the midi trigger and hearing the sound on a track. It made it impossible to record on top of anything else.

With my current set up, once record is on for a few bars, the system runs great - the midi keyboard plays the garageband instruments well, the external synths are recording audio well onto tracks in GB. Life is great! This is fun!

But, once the last instrument sound has decayed from the monitor, the problem comes up. As example, when recording, when I hit record, I hear the first click of the metronome and then nothing - it loads/fades in over the next 2/3 seconds. And then all seems good again. It feels like the whole computer is loading up like an old gramophone as the handle is cranked - not in pitch but volume. Whether I hit Record, or trigger a Midi signal (via external keyboard) or simply hit Play, if it has been a couple of seconds since the last sound came through the monitor, it will have that delay again. (If I disconnect the Fx12 and plug headphones into the MBP, the midi keyboard, the DAW, and everything else appears to work great. Only happens with the Soundcraft as I/O)