The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Passive Monitors and Amps Studio Monitors
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Maniac

Passive Monitors and Amps

While I know my fair share about audio I am writing here as I have no experience with passive studio-monitors and little knowledge about passive wiring and amp usage.

I would like to buy a pair of passive Avantone CLA-10 monitors and further down the road I will perhaps add one or two Avantone Mixcubes. Both are passive models, so if I am correct I need a 4CH-power-amp.

While there is a "dedicated" amp for the CLA-10s, that one is only 2 channels and very expensive. So I searched Thomann for 4CH amps (taking only 1 RU, which is important for me otherwise I need to buy a new rack-case) and found this one at an affordable price:

the t.amp D4-500 – Thomann Italia

However I see that this one (as well as most other amps) has only Speakon outputs, while the monitors I need to power have that other, smaller kind of connector for passive speakers which I can't find out how it is called.
Is there a way to connect a Speakon output to an input of that other type of connector or are these incompatible?

What else do I need to watch out for when searching an amp compatible to certain speakers (resistance, impedance etc)?

Any amp that you can recommend specifically for Avantone's passive speakers CLA-10 and Mixcube?
Old 4 weeks ago
You might want to try the ART SLA-4. The resistance of the speakers determines the current draw from the amp. You should find two power ratings for loads of 4 and 8 ohms.
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Guru

In the sense that they're all 2-conductor, all speaker connectors are compatible with each other. Including Speakon and banana. The only thing you need to look out for is not buying plugs or jacks that are too physically small to accommodate gigantic speaker cable.
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Addict