The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Audio Interface Audio To DSLR Audio Interfaces
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Audio Interface Audio To DSLR

New to the site. I did some searching on this topic with no luck before resorting to making a post. I'm a drummer and I'm interested in making some drum cover videos in the near future. I have a full drum mic setup, audio interface, and DAW. I have recorded and mixed the drums with other instruments to create audio files. I have made some videos of drumming and sync'd the audio and video via post processing using photoshop. Call me lazy, but I'm wondering if there is a way to record a video with high quality drum mic audio without having to sync to audio and video in post using video software?

I have a Nikon DSLR camera with a mic input on the side. Is there a way to connect a cable from my audio interface directly to my DSLR? In theory, I can have the mix set in my DAW, hit record on the DSLR, and output the mixed audio to the camera in real time as I'm playing (thus bypassing having to sync up a separate audio and video file). Hope that makes sense. Have any of you accomplished this or something similar? Thank you immensely for your feedback!
Attached Thumbnails
Audio Interface Audio To DSLR-img_20180724_185015_735.jpg  
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear
In general the answer is yes, this can be done. The specific model number and type of connector for your camera will allow us to provide a more useful answer.
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear

The camera (Nikon D-7000) has a 3.5mm mic input. The interface is a Tascam US-1800.
Attached Thumbnails
Audio Interface Audio To DSLR-20181216_105630.jpg   Audio Interface Audio To DSLR-20181216_105527.jpg  
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear
Okay, good.