The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Recording like Sonic Youth Effects Pedals, Units & Accessories
Old 6 days ago
Here for the gear

Recording like Sonic Youth

Can someone point me in the right direction of producing something along the lines of Sonic Youth (Teenage Riot, Candle, Total Trash) Im pretty new to recording (doing it for about 6 months) and can’t figure out how in the world everything sounds so dirty yet balanced on those songs. The guitars and the music in general sounds so hectic, but then Thurston’s vocals come in and they’re so clean and up front. PLEASE HELP
Old 6 days ago
Gear Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wade149 View Post
Can someone point me in the right direction of producing something along the lines of Sonic Youth (Teenage Riot, Candle, Total Trash) Im pretty new to recording (doing it for about 6 months) and can’t figure out how in the world everything sounds so dirty yet balanced on those songs. The guitars and the music in general sounds so hectic, but then Thurston’s vocals come in and they’re so clean and up front. PLEASE HELP
Dude, the question you're asking is going to involve everything from the equipment they used to play the songs, to the extreme alternate tunings they used, to the way they played their instruments, to the specific settings on their amps, and that's before you even get into things like where they recorded, what the room sounded like, how the floor was set up, how the microphones were placed, what mics they used, what console they recorded through, what recording device was used, what outboard gear was used and how... who was behind the console, why they made the decisions they made...

I found an hour + long interview with Thurston Moore on the making of Daydream Nation that might help shed a little light on your question.
YouTube