The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Neumann microphone lead worry
Old 7th November 2018
Here for the gear

Neumann microphone lead worry

So I was looking at getting a better microphone I currently have the rode NT1A and I’m looking to get a Neumann when I went on the website it said there was a lead warning that it causes cancer ect should I be worried or just get a different microphone? Or do all microphones have lead in them sorry I’m a newbie at microphones, thanks
Old 7th November 2018
Gear Guru

That probably means it was assembled using solder that contains lead. Nothing to worry about.
Old 8th November 2018
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent Hahn View Post
That probably means it was assembled using solder that contains lead. Nothing to worry about.
Thank you very much, was abit worried when I read that.
Old 8th November 2018
Gear Maniac

According to the state of California, everything we use is known to cause cancer. Seriously, that warning is on everything now a days - numerous interfaces, most speakers, many microphones, several headphones, loads of outboard gear.

California has ridiculous regulations regarding consumer products. There is more than one pending lawsuit over California requiring that label on certain products containing no chemicals shown to correlate to cancer whatsoever.
Old 8th November 2018
Lives for gear
I have mic's that are radioactive!. Berillium Diaphragms!
Old 8th November 2018
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mag J View Post
According to the state of California, everything we use is known to cause cancer. Seriously, that warning is on everything now a days - numerous interfaces, most speakers, many microphones, several headphones, loads of outboard gear.