The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Question about "analog" eq plugins
Old 23rd October 2018
Here for the gear

Question Question about "analog" eq plugins

Hi, sort of a noob question.

I have been experimenting with "analog" eq plugins. Waves H-EQ and PuigTec EQP-1A to be exact.

I was wondering why they instantly(before I touch any knobs) increase the level of everything I put them on?

Also, I was wondering the best way to compensate for this? I know I should be level matching when I EQ, but I'm wondering if there is a right way to do this with these plugins since they seem to be increasing level automatically. Should I be lowering the input to level match, then eq? Or should I eq first then lower the output to level match? or is it something else? Should I be adjusting levels in the plugin or at the fader?

Like I said, im a noob when it comes to "analog" plugins..so any tips would be great! Thanks!
Old 23rd October 2018
Lives for gear
Unfortunately it’s a little cheat that many software companies use. They know that even a tiny level boost of less than 1/2 dB will make the plug sound better than flat.
Old 23rd October 2018
Lives for gear

It's to trick you into think it's doing something good by making it sound more forward. it's tom foolery. bringing the gain up 3 tenths will convince you that it sounds better even if their dsp math is making it sound worse.
Old 23rd October 2018
Lives for gear

These points are exactly, and it is so easily shown with the brick wall of digital as opposed to overdriving into tape , that the"is it better' test is best done when level matching to the peak not averaging level of each processed track .. then A/B'ing
Old 23rd October 2018
Lives for gear