The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Recording onto tape vs using a tape simulation plugin? Recorders, Players & Tape Machines
Old 6 days ago
Here for the gear

Recording onto tape vs using a tape simulation plugin?

Hey all,

Newbie here with a question I've been curious for answers for lately!

I have a rather modest home recording setup (Scarlett 2i4, Akai MPK 88, a few good mics [such as an SM57] w/stands - with Cakewalk for my DAW, and Superior Drummer for drums). As much as I love what I have, and the flexibility that modern recording gear/software offers, many of my favorite recordings are older albums originally produced on analog gear, and I'm also a bit of a vintage stereo hobbyist/enthusiast that owns a fair bit of vinyl/tape, and the gear to play it back on as well - something special about it all to my ears, as much as I love digital formats too.

I've been curious about adding a little bit of analog "flavor" (i.e - subtle tape hiss/saturation/distortion) to my own recordings, but I've been curious about how to go about it - simply buy a quality tape sim plugin? Or go all out and buy an old reel to reel machine to use?

Obviously the plugin is far cheaper/the more practical route to go (especially with the space requirements and cost of tape for an R2R), but I guess I'm just wondering how convincing the plugins available today are? I don't have a way to mic a real drumkit (or a suitable place to record drums), but figured bouncing the Superior Drummer drums onto tape, and back into a DAW might be a way to utilize the R2R w/a drum VST.

Just curious for some insight/opinions from the more experienced folks here.

Thank you much in advance!
Old 6 days ago
Lives for gear

Quote: