The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Connecting speakers to interface? Audio Interfaces
Old 12th August 2018
Here for the gear

Connecting speakers to interface?

Hi I've never done this before.

If I connect RCA cables from the left and right speakers to the line out XLRs on my UH-7000 interface, then will it make sound when I play audio on my computer? or do I only get sound out of the speakers from a stereo amp?

I used to use a Pyle 30W amp but I don't think it really works now.

Thanks!
Old 12th August 2018
Lives for gear
What is the brand and model of your speakers?
Old 12th August 2018
Here for the gear

I have Dayton B652s. No way to connect. I might buy a Edifier R1280T (pic below) to connect the speaker to my UH-7000 interface line outputs. I never did it before so I have idea if I can get audio from the speakers that way. I'm doing this because my old stereo amp might've died. Do you think it'll work Bushman?

https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon....L._SL1084_.jpg
Old 12th August 2018
Lives for gear
The problem I see with new powered speakers is that the interface doesn’t have a left/right output level control.
One possibility is that you buy a used or new stereo amplifier with a volume control and continue to use the Dayton speakers for now. That might be cheaper than new speakers, and if the Daytons aren’t damaged they are decent speakers.
I’ve never heard of your other speakers, and a BIG problem with powered speakers that have the amps all in one of the two boxes is that the “amp box” has much less internal space than the “no amp box”, so the left and right speakers will not have the same bass response. That isn’t a setup that you ever find in real studio monitors.
Old 12th August 2018
Here for the gear