The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
How far should I record vocals away from the mic? Dynamic Microphones
Old 6 days ago
Gear Nut

How far should I record vocals away from the mic?

Hey guys so I've been recording a singer for my EP and I'm noticing that once the vocals are input into heavy compression I'm getting more mouth clicks/pops than I'd like.

The sm7b has a pop filter already built into it so I assume this wouldn't really been an issue. I've been recording vocals for maybe 2 years now pretty regularly but only recently have I begun to get really picky about the tinier details.

My question is... How far should I be recording away from the mic?

For a long time I've just had vocalists basically hug the mic. They're usually right up on their and it works for rap vocals pretty well but on pop vocals I'm thinking this must be the reason why I'm getting more artifacts than usual.

Would backing off from the mic help remove these vocal artifacts?
Old 6 days ago
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by dannydawiz View Post
Hey guys so I've been recording a singer for my EP and I'm noticing that once the vocals are input into heavy compression I'm getting more mouth clicks/pops than I'd like.

The sm7b has a pop filter already built into it so I assume this wouldn't really been an issue. I've been recording vocals for maybe 2 years now pretty regularly but only recently have I begun to get really picky about the tinier details.

My question is... How far should I be recording away from the mic?

For a long time I've just had vocalists basically hug the mic. They're usually right up on their and it works for rap vocals pretty well but on pop vocals I'm thinking this must be the reason why I'm getting more artifacts than usual.

Would backing off from the mic help remove these vocal artifacts?