The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
How/Where to get better at mixing Plugin Bundles
Old 14th June 2018
Here for the gear

How/Where to get better at mixing

Hey all, NaGuul here,

Mixing tracks seems to be a broad topic, with a lot of feeling involved, but I'm pretty sure that there are a lot of good practices out there, that will help me getting better mix.

To introduce myself, I'm a french guitarist for about 15 years, and I got into composing metal prog tracks on my free time. I love writing, I love the process of materializing what's in my brain, but now I feel trapped because I can't get thing to sound like I want.

I tried to find some info on the net, but i couldn't really find any deep tutorial on how mixing really works.

So I'm asking here, where should I start, where can I learn the fundamentals, I have a lot of questions, so much that I don't want to flood this fresh topic

And last but not least, I don't want to have answers like "Do that because it works", I really want to know why it works. When I learnt about double tracking, I spent a lot of time searching why it works, what is the physical answer of this question.

Thanks in advance for your time, and I hope to have great debate with you around here.

Have a good day !
Old 14th June 2018
Gear Guru

"Where" would be "in the chair."
Old 14th June 2018
Lives for gear

Old 15th June 2018
Lives for gear

Quote:
So I'm asking here, where should I start, where can I learn the fundamentals, I have a lot of questions, so much that I don't want to flood this fresh topic.
I love the process of materializing what's in my brain, but now I feel trapped because I can't get thing to sound like I want.
Reading,, learning your tools and practicing are the ways. It will take some time, years and then some... it will not happen in a week or a month.