The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Electric Guitar Effects Pedals, Units & Accessories
Old 6 days ago
Gear Nut

Electric Guitar

I am new to recording guitar, and I really want to get a professional sounding tone. Like that full rich tone that is on all the best old records up through the 80s etc.
I didn't realize how difficult that is!
I would like to ask experienced people.
What is the easiest, hassle free way to do this and get a rich professional quality sound?
I am mainly trying to do a 70s-80s inspired sound with clean, distorted and in between.
Old 6 days ago
Gear Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by alcoyot View Post
I am new to recording guitar, and I really want to get a professional sounding tone. Like that full rich tone that is on all the best old records up through the 80s etc.
What is the easiest, hassle free way to do this and get a rich professional quality sound?
I am mainly trying to do a 70s-80s inspired sound with clean, distorted and in between.
There is no way hassle free way, homie. Everything from recording space (which can be a book in an of itself)- to the craftsmanship of your guitar- mic- mic placement- musicians skill level, experience and ability- hardware- software- emotion- mix- EQ- effects- warmth/color- engineers ability- and more- all play their part in the quality of a finished recording.

Creating truly spectaular recordings is Def not for the faint of heart.

Good luck!
Old 6 days ago
Lives for gear

Its good youi are realizing the difficulty. Its should make you appreciate sites like this where people share tips, tricks and experience.