The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Wuts the best mic for rock vocals? Condenser Microphones
Old 19th October 2002
Gear Nut

Wuts the best mic for rock vocals?

Or better yet, wuts the standard used by most? I use a Rode NTK and have no complaints.
Old 19th October 2002
Lives for gear

I'll use anything from a SM58 (vintage model) to a C414 to a U47. The choice of Mic is singer depended first IMO. It has little to do with the style of music.
Old 19th October 2002
Gear Nut

I completely agree with that it has to do with the singer. I was just curious to c wut sum of you guys and girls used. Im only starting to learn the principles of audio engineering, so dont get pissed if I ask stupid q's. Im just a poor musician with a whole bunch of songs that need to get on tape, or hard disk.

PS I do like to think that I know more than yer average beginer though.
Old 19th October 2002
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally posted by AgonizingpaiN
I completely agree with that it has to do with the singer. I was just curious to c wut sum of you guys and girls used. Im only starting to learn the principles of audio engineering, so dont get pissed if I ask stupid q's. Im just a poor musician with a whole bunch of songs that need to get on tape, or hard disk.

PS I do like to think that I know more than yer average beginer though.

Cool, .... no stupid Q's btw .... only stupid answers.

Old 19th October 2002
Gear Maniac

It´s depending on the voice. I like mics that have fast attack so you get a kind of compressed sound from the mic.

Blue Baby Bottle
SM7
C12
Old 19th October 2002
jon
Capitol Studios Paris

It depends on the voice and type of delivery involved. It also depends on the pres and comps being used.

Still, for male rock vocals, I haven't found anything that sounds better than a good U47.