The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Yamaha MG10XU
Old 8th August 2017
Here for the gear

Yamaha MG10XU

So, I'm looking at the Yamaha MG10XU for recording purposes, and I've got a few questions I'm not sure the answers too.

So, It has a USB interface. From my understanding that will replace a traditional interface like the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2. Would this be a good move over the Scarlett 2i2? I plan to use it for recording Vocal, Guitar, Bass, and maybe drum. We're still talking about getting some sound proofing for my buddies drum room. I'm a bit of a noob so I really don't know if this will fit all my needs to start out and learn how to properly record and mix. Also, I know Scarlett does come with free daw software. I don't know what to look at in that department but my main goal right now is to record bass, and guitar through direct input to a daw.

Also, How would a chain work with this? Ive looked it up a few times and haven't found much info on how to chain equipment racks to a mix board, and to a computer.
Old 8th August 2017
Gear Nut
Personally, I think recording into a computer with a mixing board is a terrible idea. There is no benefit, there are too many ways to mess it up, and it's not going to be as good of a sound card as a 2i2. You would get way better results with just the 2i2 doing what you are trying to do.

SO, I would save that money you were going to spend on the MG10XU, and spend it on something else sweet for your studio. Maybe put it toward treating your room, a decent mic, some sweet plugins.
Old 8th August 2017
Lives for gear