The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Bus , Aux and Sends tracks
Old 6th April 2017
Here for the gear

Bus , Aux and Sends tracks

Hi.. there .I am relatively new with mixing. Cud anyone help me out with aux,bus and sends?
1. Someone plz explain aux, bus and sends separately.
2.When should I use them?
3. Why should I use them?
4.And of course HOW should I use them.

I wud be grateful if sm1 told hw these tracks work in cubase 5(cz i am using dat DAW)

Thnx in advance
Old 6th April 2017
Lives for gear

Busses are super cool to use and can greatly expand your creativity.

Lets begin very simple first. If you can grasp the simply you can expand the options for more complex scenarios.

Lets work off a hardware model first. Digital DAW's simply copy that digital model so its best to begin there.

I'll use a couple of analogies. If you're a guitarist these should be familiar.
If you own a guitar amp with an effects send that effects loop is an auxiliary buss.

A guitar amp consists of two main sections - the preamp you plug your instrument in to which gets the pickup signal strength up from its less then one volt output to line level. The preamp feeds the power amp that raises the power up strong enough to drive a speaker. The preamp has all your volume/drive and tone controls and any effects the amp may have. The power amp only drives the speakers.

An effect loop breaks the connection between the preamp and power amp and puts whatever effect you connect in series before the power amp.

Now this is the key item - many effects have a mix knob where you can adjust between full effect or full dry (they usually have a bypass switch for this too)
Your mix knobs allow you to adjust how much effect there is compared to the dry.

The chain would be Instrument> Preamp> Effect> Power amp> Speaker