The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
How to connect my home stereos amp to Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 please
Old 28th July 2015
Here for the gear

How to connect my home stereos amp to Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 please

I would please like to know what leads I need exactly to connect my home stereo to my audio interface and where to plug them, all I have on my home stereo amp are 1 red and 1 white phono socket so there is not much choice there!
But the 18i20 has lots of inputs/outputs and so far every lead everyone has told me has not worked including the shop that I bought it from! ..but when people have given me info I am sometimes not understanding what they are trying to tell me, I really am a complete noob!

I have already put a post up, but was a bit long winded, so tried again!

Thanks in advance
Old 29th July 2015
You should just be able to use a pair of 1/4" to RCA ("phono") adapters. If that's not working then your problem probably lies elsewhere, like in your output routing on your DAW or your input selection on your stereo.
Old 29th July 2015
Lives for gear

OK, you'll need two 1/4" TS to RCA cables of a suitable length. Something similar to a pair of these:

Hosa Technology HPR-005 Unbalanced 1/4" TS Male to HPR-005

Alternatively, you could buy a dual-cable arrangement to do the same thing. Something similar to this:

Hosa Technology HPR-005X2 Dual 1/4" TS Male to HPR-005X2

Finally, as Bender412 suggested, you could just get a pair of 1/4" to RCA adapters and use normal RCA cables. For example:

Hosa Technology GPR101 Male Phone to Female RCA Adapter GPR-101

and

Pearstone 2 RCA Male to 2 RCA Male Audio Cable (6') ARSC-106 B&H

(Please note, I'm not necessarily recommending any of those specific brands, they're just there to show you what you're looking for.)