The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Loan Money for Gear?
Old 2nd May 2015
Here for the gear

Loan Money for Gear?

Hey guys I am an aspiring engineer, I will be attending school in the fall to obtain a certificate in audio engineering. The school I am going to is relatively cheap compared to alot of audio schools that cost an arm and a leg. Right now I have been in "DIY" mode and learning as much as I can before I go to school. I know education isnt required for this career, but I honestly am going to not only learn from some people already in the biz but also to network and be around like minded people. Idk if this would be a wise move but I am certainly considering taking out a loan of 7000k and using it to get some audio equipment such as a mixing board, speakers, desk etc.. Right now my setup consist of a casio keyboard and my mac with LPX.
Old 2nd May 2015
Lives for gear
Are you asking for money or asking if you should take out a loan from a bank? 7k won't go very far anyway. I'd wait until you actually know what you're doing to start buying things.

If you did want to use 7k, you might consider approaching a studio and asking for an internship for 7k, allow you to assist on sessions, learn a bit about signal flow, placement, and let you use them as a reference. Actual experience goes way farther.
Old 2nd May 2015
No no no no! The odds are that you won't get much income after school to pay off the loan. And you might even find that audio engineering is not your thing. So what a terrible place to be in in a few years: a big loan to pay off and no related revenue!
Old 2nd May 2015
Deleted User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gameboi Advance View Post