The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Spread by DJ Swivel - Launching today!
Old 1st September 2020
Here for the gear

Software Spread by DJ Swivel - Launching today!

Hey Gearslutz, my name is DJ Swivel, I'm a Grammy winning producer/mixer (Beyonce, Chainsmokers, Coldplay, Jay-Z, BTS) and after launching my first plugin at the top of 2020 called The Sauce, I'm back with number two called Spread. It's a multi-band stereo imager with a couple other helpful features, and for the month of September it's only $15, down from $39.

I use stereo enhancers all the time on my mixes, and so I wanted to build one that has all the features I typically wanted, namely, the ability to change the stereo spread on different frequency bands which I would normally have to go to Ozone for, which isn't great when you want to use it 5 or 6 times in a mix.

There's a couple other really cool features too. For one, it will recognize if it's being placed on a stereo track, or a mono track. If mono it will convert to stereo and allow you to get some amazing width. If you put it on a stereo track, you can actually go both directions, either spreading the signal wider, or making it more mono - again across 3 user definable frequency bands. There's also a Side Filter function which uses an M/S filter to roll off up to 200hz on all low end information in the sides, while leaving the mono information intact. Very helpful for low end muddiness caused by weird stereo information in those lower frequencies. This has an audition button so you can hear exactly what you're filtering out clearly. Finally there's a Tilt function, which will help balance out your left and right levels, without compromising the stereo image. It works simply by raising/lowering the volume of each channel +/-6dB.