The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Finding A Publisher
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Finding A Publisher

For someone who is experienced in selling through libraries and landing syncs on TV, what advice would you give them to find a publisher? Or even connect directly with more music supervisors?

I'm a composer in the midwest. I have one "connection", who is a supervisor for a TV prod company. I make the rest of my sync money through small libraries that pay little to nothing. I've sent out hundreds of emails to music supervisors, but with no luck. What do you think is the best avenue for getting music heard?
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmbientOne View Post
What do you think is the best avenue for getting music heard?
What KIND of music? What direction?

Underscore?
Trailers?
Commercials?
Source?
Band Oriented?
Singer/Songwriter Oriented?

Your BEST avenue is the tried and true method. Espoused by our own friend John Fulford. What is it John would say?

COLD CALL!!!!

I'll add :
NETWORK
MAKE FRIENDS
STAY INVOLVED IN THE INDUSTRY

Alternatively, you could move to LA and try to slug it out with the other 5,000-10,000 composers there.....All of the above is easier to do in close proximity, and the odds go up just by being close.
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Quote:
I've sent out hundreds of emails to music supervisors,
You and thousands of others. Do something to stand out.
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by drBill View Post
What KIND of music? What direction?

Underscore?
Trailers?
Commercials?
Source?
Band Oriented?
Singer/Songwriter Oriented?

Your BEST avenue is the tried and true method. Espoused by our own friend John Fulford. What is it John would say?
Bill, I've watched a lot of Fulford's videos. The most I've gotten from listening to him is to work.