The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Mixer and Recorder for Film/Field Recorders, Players & Tape Machines
Old 6th August 2014
Here for the gear

Mixer and Recorder for Film/Field

Hey guys,

First time posting in this forum... read through the relevant threads that I could find, but still a newbie at this, so forgive me if I make you at any point. Looking for advice from those more knowledgeable and experienced.

Quick background: I studied film and sound in college (13 years ago), but after that, built a career as a professional musician, and my only real "engineering" experience was in my home studio... until a few years ago, when I began working as a sound recordist for a friend on a doc he was shooting. I didn't know very much, but I managed not to screw up anything too important, and as it turns out, my friend made an excellent film--it won awards at some big festivals, and eventually was nominated for an Oscar. So that was crazy.

Now I've just come off tour at the end of a long record cycle and I'm looking to step away from noise-making for awhile and get back into noise-listening...

To the point: I'm looking to buy a kit that would ideally serve the purposes of documentary/ENG-style sound recording at a pro level, and ambient field recording at a hobbyist level.

I have a pretty good grasp on what I want for my mics (NTG-3 for the shotgun) and accessories. As for the recorder, I want more than two-track capability, but I simply can't spring for the 744T. I have the H4n currently, and love what I've seen of the H6, so I'm thinking of going with that, or possibly the H5.