The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Woodwinds in Epic Themes? Virtual Instrument Plugins
Old 10th March 2014
Woodwinds in Epic Themes?

Hi,

I'm an amateur composer looking to expand my understanding of orchestrating Epic Themes. I do know how to use woodwinds when writing slow, emotional, romantic pieces to some extent, but when I'm writing "Epic" themes I just struggle on how to use them.

Is there anyone who happens to know any articles regarding this? I've searched to no avail. Or if anyone would care to give some starting tips on how to incorporate woodwinds into this kind of music.

Thank you in advance, and sorry if my question is very wide, which I know it is.
Old 11th March 2014
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boberg View Post
Hi,

I'm an amateur composer looking to expand my understanding of orchestrating Epic Themes. I do know how to use woodwinds when writing slow, emotional, romantic pieces to some extent, but when I'm writing "Epic" themes I just struggle on how to use them.

Is there anyone who happens to know any articles regarding this? I've searched to no avail. Or if anyone would care to give some starting tips on how to incorporate woodwinds into this kind of music.

Thank you in advance, and sorry if my question is very wide, which I know it is.
In orchestration of large symphonic pieces, there is a thing some call "masking" where instruments are felt more than heard. They are "masked" by other elements of the score.

Often you will hear a piece and love the "great brass lines" only to find out...should you ever see the real score...that along the brass there are winds and strings playing as well in unison, but you just can't hear them because of the brass, percussion, and dynamic levels and ranges of the various parts.