The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
What should a composer have to handle working with video in Pro Tools?
Old 18th October 2013
Gear Nut

What should a composer have to handle working with video in Pro Tools?

I'm a relatively new composer and most of the work I have done so far has been lower end stuff like indie films and internet commercials. I always have the client provide me with a .MOV of the video so that I can work with it in Pro Tools and so far there has been no issues with this.

I'm just curious if there is something else I should look into, so that down the line I don't get stuck in a situation where I'm provided with the video in a different format and can't import it into PT to work with. What do all of you composers out there using PT have to work with video?

I should mention that I'm on PT LE8. I'm thinking about updating to PT11 soon as I believe there were some additional video features included? I'm also aware there is the DV toolkit package but I believe that cost something like 2-3k so I'm not sure if it's worthwhile to spend on that or not? Also, I'm only looking for advice regarding PT, I'm not interested in other DAWs.

Thanks!
Old 20th October 2013
Gear Nut

No one? Should I take that to mean that .MOV is the standard and I should be ok with just that?
Old 21st October 2013
Gear Guru

I posted to your thread earlier, but I don't know what happened to it....

Anyway, there are more than one type of .mov, so I'd suggest getting quicktime pro from apple. It will let you re-save movies in various formats. It's cheap and easy to use.

If you want to output your movie on a different screen, there are firewire solutions for that but again, you have to have the .mov in the correct format.