The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
How To Break in TV Ad Composing Drum Machines & Samplers
Old 23rd August 2007
Gear Head

How To Break in TV Ad Composing

Any advice on how to break into the TV ad composing industry? I am an independent composer, don't live in LA or NY, but I would like to compose tracks or at least market my productions to ad agencies outside my local area. I've done a lot of research about the industry, gathered a lot of contact info on specific agency creatives and producers. I've also written a wide range of 30 and 60 second tracks, and started pitching them to a number of ad agencies in the US. I'll appreciate any advice on my endeavors.
Old 23rd August 2007
Lives for gear

not being in NY or LA is tough doing that. regional work around your area could work but budgets are low. unless someone here hasw another story.

usually u enter a jingle studio who has a pool of composers. or u network and mingle in NY and LA with producers and directors etc.

when i worked in one jingle house in NY we got tons of demo submissions but almost where never opened. if they where it was cause it look so ggod that the studio owners will check the competition.

where are u located?
Old 23rd August 2007
Gear Addict

Get a solid reel together. Approach music production houses. Best advice is to ride the coat tails of an established music company as a staff or in rotation composer. Most of them are liasons between the ad agency and composers anyway. They give you the assignment, you do the work, they produce it. 'Music Supervisors' are another group of people to know.

People not in NY or LA need to have a track record before most clients will do business remotely.

Be able to produce high quality music with quck turnarounds and endless revisions.