The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Additional usage rights - advice
Old 1 week ago
Gear Nut

Additional usage rights - advice

Hi everyone!

I have recently written music for a TV commercial, and I just got contacted by the ad agency that their client asked about the rights for potential usage of the same music in other future projects.
How would you go about this? Would you charge extra per new project? Would you charge a one off sum for them to get usage rights for all future projects? Would you give them the rights without charge?
Or is a deal like: Full rights for internal usage, but a fee for future commercial projects good? What is reasonable?

I am not sure what is common practice here since I am quite new to this.

Thank you very much for your help!
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

Are the future projects different commercials and/or different territories?

I had something similar where I scored a cinema ad that was then shown abroad but I stipulated in the contract that they would have to “re-license” it from me in those instances.

I’m not 100% sure if there’s a common practice but I wouldn’t feel comfortable with a flat fee if they’re going to use it over and over again for varying projects of size/territory.
Old 1 week ago
Gear Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by jazz4 View Post

I had something similar where I scored a cinema ad that was then shown abroad but I stipulated in the contract that they would have to “re-license” it from me in those instances.

I’m not 100% sure if there’s a common practice but I wouldn’t feel comfortable with a flat fee if they’re going to use it over and over again for varying projects of size/territory.
Thank you! They haven't specified anything, just shown interest. But I am guessing reusing the music for social media related stuff, maybe another TV ad later on.
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

Quote:
I would ask the same.

Quote: