The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Advices for new composer/producer
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Advices for new composer/producer

Hi everyone,

my name is Ed, thanks in advance to those who will have few minutes to read my thread:

briefly, I am a professional musician (live performer, bass guitar/double bass main instruments, I play a bit of piano, guitar, drums too) living in London.

I have been studying by myself for several months a lot of useful material to become a producer/composer working for the 'music for picture' industry.

I have bought and read books like 'On the Track', 'Adler' orchestration, books and courses on mixing and mastering, watched thousands of videos on YT (Manchester Music, Daniel James, Christian Henson, etc.), I have got a really good knowledge of music (I read well and have always played and listened to anything) and Logic Pro X (it's the only DAW that I am currently using, I have got few libraries too) and of course I have a home studio.

My idea was to invest in some courses either by Berklee online or Thinkspace Education to fill my gaps and prepare myself to start working initially in the library music and music for advertisements world.

A producer friend of mine 2 months ago asked me to compose a 30sec Ad music for a contest and my 2 tracks were selected within the first 5 out of 68.

I noticed that with a goal and under pressure I was super productive and I started to put in practice everything I have learnt so far and, most importantly, I really enjoyed that, but now I don't have incentives and feel insicure on which next steps to take to enter this music production world.

I am carrying on the study of everything related to this world that I find online, for example I found this forum mentioned in the library music articles on Sound on Sound.

I am currently unemployed (given the fact that all the live gigs are cancelled) and would like to use this time to be productive as much as I can.