The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Client requesting price quote for commercial use of one of my tracks
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Client requesting price quote for commercial use of one of my tracks

Sorry for the long post..I received this e-mail and i would like to ask for some help about how we deal with this?

Greetings!
I’m an indie game developer and am in the process of creating my first game. I’m very far into the project and am in need of a song to use for my game’s menu screen.
I was on P5 and found this particular song that you had created:
“LINK”
It’s a beautiful song. Very nice work.
I’m not an attorney, so I’m having a hard time understanding Pong5’s commercial policy. Since you’re the owner of this song, what would you charge to give me rights to use this song in a game that I’m making? When this game is completed, I will be selling the game via digital download at Steam.com. Your song would be the game’s menu theme.
Thank you! I’m really looking forward to your response!

Some information that might help:
1. This is a well produced world/ethnic track produced in a top notch studio. (only real instruments)
2. The price in P5 is 69$ and sells relatively well
3. Googling client’s name found only 284 results

I have received similar email again, so I always wondered: Provided we agree on the price what should i send to client, certifying that he legally purchased the track from me? Are there any templates of something like “Proof of Purchase”?

Thank you for your time!
Old 2 weeks ago

Re-title the track for their project. Tell them its a one time license for X years (or lifetime whichever).

There is no PRO in games. Negotiate fee. Big game (AAA) will pay anything for £2500 to £20k for a license..... very occasionally more for something special... but I've licensed out major catalogue for £1500 for one well known game.