The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
How is Electronic Music Film Scoring Possible?
Old 6 days ago
Here for the gear

How is Electronic Music Film Scoring Possible?

Alright, film scorers. Clear something up for me. Keep in mind I am a complete newbie to music production and film scoring in general.

What's the basic process of creating a film score of electronic music? Electronic music DAW's, like FL, ableton, and bitwig, don't have the film scoring features that DP, logic, pro tools, or cubase have. But DAW's like Pro Tools and DP aren't known for having electronic music features.

So how is this paradox reconciled? Get by with Ableton even though it doesn't have optimal film features? Be sad you have to somehow make electronic music in Digital Performer instead of Ableton because you are technically doing a 'film score'?

Or is there a secret way to get 100% of the electronic music DAW functionality and 100% of the film scoring DAW functionality?
Old 6 days ago
I think you have a lot of reading and video tutorial watching to do.
There is a lot of competition to get into film scoring, it's unlikely you'd get much work just making dance style music alone, unless you are a hit artist known for that style.
Lots of film composers make 'electronic' style cues for film and tv, but they do it inside whatever daw they own. They often use hardware synths and modular.
It's not really about looping repetitive sequences in an Ableton Live way, it's about taking some of those influences and applying them to a film score scenario.

Also, a film cue is never finished until the final mix, so you will find yourself editing, rewriting and changing many of your pieces before they are finished.

Old 6 days ago
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisso View Post
I think you have a lot of reading and video tutorial watching to do.