The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Realistic string library (not VSL)
Old 5th October 2019
Gear Nut

Realistic string library (not VSL)

Hi all,

I have been using VSL sample libraries for many years (mainly Opus 1/2 and Solo Strings) and liked them a lot in the beginning. However, I really find it hard to get them sound cinematic/realistic and that's mostly because they are all close-miced. I don't like the idea of re-creating the room with IRs in post. I can never make it sound similar to real string recorded in a real room.

To be honest I haven't closely followed the development of string libraries in recent years, but I see that there are libraries that include multiple mic positions for each sample. In particular I like the sound of EastWest Hollywood Strings.

For those of you who work work with real strings as well as libraries. What is your experience? Do you feel mic positions included in the EastWest Hollywood Strings are a good representation of what you use in real recording sound-wise? Are there other libraries that you prefer in this regard?

Looking forward to your opinions
Old 5th October 2019
Gear Addict

Hollywood Strings have a great sound, but they need a lot of work. The programming is very inconsistent, the naming of the patches confusing, and Play 6 still lacks a few very basic functionalities. The library is clearly laid out to be used with one track per articulation. If you want to use one track per instrument with keyswitches it's complicated.

For ease of use and a beautiful dark sound, Cinematic Studio Strings are hard to beat. For depth of articulation and bang for the bucks, Hollywood Strings are a great choice.
Old 6th October 2019
Gear Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by goodkeys View Post
If you want to use one track per instrument with keyswitches it's complicated.
Can you elaborate on what you mean by this? In the video demos I watched key switches seemed to work the same way as I'm used to: See e.g. here: