The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Composing for Film - training wheels?
Old 17th August 2019
Gear Nut

Composing for Film - training wheels?

Hello Kind People,

I am a composer/songwriter, and I also have worked with Synthesizers and Sequencing since the 80s, as well as having plenty of experience with Live Audio and Mixing as well as Recording/Engineering/Editing in the Digital Realm.

I work with Pro Tools, Logic Pro X, Cubase, Finale, Sibelius and so on.

So the "composing the music" part I got. I can knock out music pretty regularly and consistently.

My questions are more about the "logistics" of Writing for Image - Film, TV, Game, and other similar Media.

I'm not expecting to be John Williams or land any huge Hollywood contracts.

But what I would like to do is maybe write some music for some local productions, such as any local Documentaries, or local Radio or TV program (so I'll certainly do Radio work too) - local PBS stuff for example. I'm thinking maybe Training Videos for corporations - we have a big Military presence.

I also have a secondary interest, and that's putting some music up on a Licensing Library - which I know little more than that they exist and it's a place were companies can go and buy (or license) music to use in their own productions. I understand you can make some money off this. I don't expect to get rich off it - or even have anything at all licensed, but I am interested in exploring it - if it's a worthwhile venture, if there are "targeted approaches" that are more effective, and so on.

I have many questions: