The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
I am starting to feel a bit frustrated
Old 22nd July 2019
Here for the gear
I am starting to feel a bit frustrated

Hi

I need advise and honest feedback from professional composers who are already or been involved in some sort of licensing contract: meaning, their music has been already placed in some media (game, film, tv, ads, etc, etc).

I don't consider myself a professional musician, but I have been playing with music since I was a child. I studied couple of years music theory when I was around 10 years old, then I just enjoyed playing music with my computer. I have been doing so as a hobby for the last 20 years, from time to time, with some large portions of time without doing it at all.

When I was 19 years old I was contacted by a music library from Los Angeles (I still preserve the original contract) named "Industrial Soundworks". They apparently worked with HBO and other large media companies. I used Software Trackers (MOD, IT) at that time, and some software sampler/synth. But life sent me through a different path and I didn't follow much what happened then.

During the last 2 years I've started to buy some gear (keyboards, synths, drum machines, etc) and restarted my hobby/passion. During the last months, I began to feel I needed to do something: I want my music to be placed in media (games, films, etc, etc). But, as a total newbie (I still am), I start to feel frustration. I submitted my music for a RPG game, they liked it, but don't feel it's exactly what they looked for. Ok, I can accept that. But just right after that, another Music Library refused to accept my music for the same reasons: not exactly a current fit, "but will follow up if something appears".