The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Need help in choosing the right PRO.
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

Need help in choosing the right PRO.

Hi,

I am fairly new in the music industry when in comes to PRO, I never had one.

I am considering to become a member of Buma Stemra in the Netherlands.
Buma Stemra is a PRO in the Netherlands.
The work together with other agencies worldwide.
I need some advice of you experts in the music industry.

My question is:
Is it in my disadvantage to become a member of Buma Stemra in Netherlands in stead of BMI/ASCAP when my main focus is on US Music Libraries?

Can you please have a look at the other PRO’s they work with?
Here is the link :

https://www.bumastemra.nl/wp-content...ganisaties.pdf

The reason for me to be considering this is because I live in the Netherlands and it is easy for me to contact them because Dutch is my native language and their headquarters is not far from my place so I can always stop by when it is needed.
Next to performance royalties they handle mechanical royalties too.

I see a lot of people talking about BMI/ASCAP.
Just want to be sure I am not cutting my own fingers by choosing a ‘bad’ PRO.
I am not saying Buma Stemra is a ‘bad’ PRO but I just need advice from the experts who have more experience in the music industry than I have.

Hope you can enlighten me with your knowledge and experience.

Thank you.
Radiussound
Old 1 week ago
Gear Addict