The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
ISRC's/ISRW's, PRO's, delivery formats + Music For Picture questions
Old 13th May 2019
Deleted 11f77bb
ISRC's/ISRW's, PRO's, delivery formats + Music For Picture questions

Do any of you use ISRC's or ISWC's with stems or only with the stereo master version -or do you not use them at all and leave it all up to the library company to handle?

I have my ISRC registrant code that I've been using for a few years of singles and albums and I know these are important for tracking sales, uses and royalties, but unsure how this works with libraries. I am registered with Soundexchange and was with BMI, but found them to be seemingly only interested in their A-list roster of big earners so am considering a switch there. Anyway, as a 100% in house songwriter, composer, performer, artist, label, with several different potential publishing revenue streams available (performance, mechanical, neighboring rights...) just wondering how it all works with these libraries, which libraries are worth approaching with my catalog and which PRO's outside of SE that I should be considering.. and what exactly to prepare and register with them to be sure I am covering all areas of royalties.

From what I gather, the difference between music for film and music for album is - the final format (24/48), level (-10db max) and printing stems, a stereo master, as well as the various length versions (and of course the altered individual stems). So if a piece of music is say 3 minutes in length, comprised of 8 stem/groups, plus 60 sec and 30 sec shortened versions, you end up providing:

1. the full stereo mastered version (for pitch/library ad/sales/soundtrack)