The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
How many of you are making a living from library music?
Old 5th May 2019
Here for the gear

Question How many of you are making a living from library music?

I made a quick search and was surprised that there weren’t any conversations about this. I am trying to see how common or realistic it is to earn a livable salary solely from selling production/trailer music to libraries. Veterans, please feel free to elaborate on what it takes!
Old 5th May 2019
Here for the gear

I think there are some threads on this, though I think it's mostly discussions within the library threads vs seperate threads. Anyway, I make my living doing this. My focus is on trailer music, and that's where most of my income comes from, but I have dabbled in TV, advertising, film, games, etc. (And still do on the side).

There are really so many factors involved in terms of getting it going - strategy, track style/skill/production, the library, personal relationships with that library, etc, what is trending, what type of music you write, etc.

It's hard to nail it down, but in general my advice to anyone looking to make it a full time gig would be to firstly consider where you stand as far as writing and production goes, what might be your strength/weakness, and what the various libraries all offer etc. Studying the libraries out there gives you an idea of what they are looking for exactly, what the standard is, etc. As well as studying what is regularly getting placed. As far as getting into libraries it's all a big gamble as there are so many options - exclusive vs non exclusive, having a library that gets lots of placements but maybe not for you, it's a lot of trial and error. You can have really great tracks that collect dust in one library, that might get placed all day in another.