The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Still mine to sign?
Old 1st December 2018
Here for the gear

Still mine to sign?

Question: If I direct license some custom music to a client, and continue to retain all rights to my tracks, is it still possible for me to sign those to an exclusive deal with a library? Or does it depend on the library's contract?
Old 1st December 2018
Gear Head

I'm not a lawyer, but in my opinion, no.

It won't be possible because the publisher would have the legal right to sue the artist for using their (formerly yours) song without paying for a fee. The artist would then claim he had already payed for using your song, and he would be well within his rights. Long story short, the publisher would thus conclude to a breach of contract insofar as you would have claimed on an official document that you had accepted to transfer them 100% of the rights of the song, which was technically not possible.

A good practice would therefore be to sign the song to a publisher, and then to introduce the artist to the publisher. Also, you could take advantage of this easy deal to negotiate a better deal with the publisher
Old 1st December 2018
Lives for gear

Depends on the library. I have done this with an exclusive library. Two different ones infact.

Not sure what Donedeal0 is talking about an artist for. That case may be different.
Old 1st December 2018
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amber View Post
Depends on the library. I have done this with an exclusive library. Two different ones infact.

Not sure what Donedeal0 is talking about an artist for. That case may be different.
You've signed the same songs to two individual libraries? In an 'exclusive' agreement?
Old 1st December 2018
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by clump View Post