The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
how to make libary tracks more interesting
Old 3 weeks ago
Here for the gear

how to make libary tracks more interesting

Hi guys,

I though it would be nice to have a thread where we all share tips and things we've learnt from doing our libary tracks.

Just following on I just want to share some things I discovered recently and what I notice when guys post their tracks of various forums for feedback ect...

I've been producing libary music for a few years now and just want to share some tips. Essentially, like how you can make your music more interesting. Basically just doing something totally original and thinking in a completely different way can literally bring a track to life. Kind of think of it like thinking out the box but not literally. For example this can be -

1-using totally ancient instruments (hurdy gurdy / sacbutts / bagpipes with a strident flange and loads of reverb for drones ect..)

2-trad instruments 'with a twist'

3-strange time signatures (5/4 / 2/2 3/4 ect..)

4-tastefull fx fused with non-tastefull instruments (flange on a horn ect.)

But let's focus on '2' - 'trad instruments with a twist'.

So I have just finished getting my track 'Move Yer' professionally mastered. This is from a soon to be released libary album that I'm contributing to called 'Dead Beats' (yeah, we like the ironic title as it's just kinda breathing life into the Drum 'n Bass format which is literally making a comeback). The track also uses top session vocalist Jane Smith (who comes in in the second half). I am a big Pendulum fan so you might spot the influence.