The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
TV royalties - how much to expect from placements? Drum Machines & Samplers
Old 2nd February 2018
Gear Addict

TV royalties - how much to expect from placements?

Hi everyone

Just a quick question about tv royalties. I am fairly new to the library music business, but since a few month I see regular tv placements coming in on Tunesat. The first PRO statement may still be a while away though. But I'm curious to know what I can expect from it approximately.

So, can anybody give some rough numbers for tv placements (lets say between 10 and 20 seconds of music each, some primetime, some in the morning or afternoon, on a pretty wide array of tv channels (BBC, Channel 4, some french and german tv stations))? How much does one placement pay on a rough average? Or, if that is easier, how many placements do you need approximately to earn 1000$ from them? Just the royalties, not counting the sync fees.

I imagine that it varies pretty widely. But a rough estimation would be enough. It's just to satisfy my curiosity.
Old 2nd February 2018
Here are definitive answers!

--

--

--

Keep grinding!
Old 2nd February 2018
I am sure your next question will be "How Many Tracks Do You Need To Make A Full-Time Income?" Fortunately, I have the answer!

Old 2nd February 2018
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by goodkeys View Post
Hi everyone

Just a quick question about tv royalties. I am fairly new to the library music business, but since a few month I see regular tv placements coming in on Tunesat. The first PRO statement may still be a while away though. But I'm curious to know what I can expect from it approximately.