The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Upgrading monitors. Advice on these 3?
Old 5th November 2017
Upgrading monitors. Advice on these 3?

I am a film/tv composer, just moved into a new studio space, and feel it's time to upgrade monitors from my JBL LSR305's. My budget for the pair is $2k max, so I've been looking at 3 options:

1) Focal Shape 65
2) Adam A7x
3) Yamaha HS8

Studio setup: My new room is 20ft x 12ft x 7.5ft high. I'm in the process of treating it to the best of my ability, but I have low-end concerns due to the ceiling height (and room width). I thought this might be worth mentioning as I believe the room can be a limiting factor for the quality of monitors. That's also why I listed the cheaper HS8's as an option (why spend the money if I won't fully utilize the others?).

For what it's worth, my mixing engineer uses HS8's. I'm sure I'm off base, but I can't help but think my monitors should be different than his.

Thoughts?
Old 5th November 2017
Lives for gear
Discard that notion. Your speakers should be whatever best suits you. If that happens to be the same monitors as your mixer, it shouldn’t matter.
Old 5th November 2017
Lives for gear

As a composer, stay away from clinical or harsh.

Get something more along the lines of fun, pleasant...etc.

Right away that crosses the Adams and Yamaha's off your list.
Old 5th November 2017
Lives for gear