The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Starting out as a music composer
Old 20th October 2016
Starting out as a music composer

Hey guys!

Ive been producing for about 16 years now and about a year ago I started focusing on music for tv, movies and commercials. I scored an indie horror film that will be out in theatres in march and I am working with an agent who is trying to get my music into some of the bigger libraries such as killer tracks and start getting my stuff licensed. I plan to register with BMI, Ascap and Sesac when I start getting some of music picked up. Am I moving in the right direction?

I would love to hear what suggestions you would have for some one starting off in my position. What would you wish you knew when you got started? I know the key is to get to the creative directors at some of the bigger networks but should I just sending of EPKs to fox and warner brothers? How did you build your network and get your start? Thanks so much for any advice you are willing to share!
Old 20th October 2016
Lives for gear

๐ŸŽง 15 years
Hey man congrats on scoring a film which will get a theatrical release!

That's already quite a leap you have within the context of 'just starting out'.
If the movie is any good and you're proud of it, then you share it on social media, make a website and put it up there with a bio, etc.
This alone may give you a bit of leverage when trying to get more work.

The people you want to reach out to are - obviously - film makers, directors, producers, etc., but also music supervisors if you have random tracks you'd like to get placed.
These are the decision makers with a lot of pull in the industry.
It's no easy task but with a bit of searching, there are resources with advice on how to reach out to them.