The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Getting MORE work as a game composer
Old 3rd October 2014
Here for the gear

Getting MORE work as a game composer

Hi, I am a game composer with a few mobile games published by a couple of developers. My question is what are some good ways to build on/make the most of my work done so far to generate new work? I have read lots online about how to start off as a game composer, eg build a portfolio, get to know up-and-coming developers etc...but nothing on how to build on what you've got already. I still seem to be going down the same avenues as when I had no games done, ie. dev communities, freelance job sites etc. It took a long time to get the 6 games I've done so far, so am looking to increase my job-finding hit rate if possible!

Any advice would be much appreciated, thanks.
Old 9th October 2014

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexjon View Post
Hi, I am a game composer with a few mobile games published by a couple of developers. My question is what are some good ways to build on/make the most of my work done so far to generate new work? I have read lots online about how to start off as a game composer, eg build a portfolio, get to know up-and-coming developers etc...but nothing on how to build on what you've got already. I still seem to be going down the same avenues as when I had no games done, ie. dev communities, freelance job sites etc. It took a long time to get the 6 games I've done so far, so am looking to increase my job-finding hit rate if possible!

Any advice would be much appreciated, thanks.
Same as any music promotion - get known, know who all the audio directors are and be very familiar with Unity, UE4 (and blueprints), Fabric, WWISE and FMOD

Being good at music aint gonna cut it - just like it doesn't in the film, tv and commercial world. Its who you know, how well you know the medium, technical stuff and the profile of your jobs