The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Windows 8.1 DAW software? DAW Software
Old 3rd December 2014
Lives for gear
Windows 8.1 DAW software?

Still running Windows 7 on my main PC. SONAR 8.5 (yeah, it's old) is my DAW of choice. The X series SONAR has an interface that I cannot stand and just bundled in more features for new people that I don't care about so I've been using the same app since 2009.

Just picked up a Surface Pro 3 on a Black Friday sale. I don't intend on this being a DAW, but I want to try some stuff on in just to mess around.

My 5 year old version of SONAR doesn't work (shocking huh?) so I'm looking for something different.

What's good these days? Absolutely cannot have a dongle and must run Windows 8.
Old 3rd December 2014
Gear Addict

funny you should ask, i was in search of this answer today (a daw for my sp3)
funnier still that you hate sonar's X line, because thats looking like the only PC daw that deliberately implemented multi touch

i just bought X3 off steam for $30, there are about 17 hours left to get it at that price

i've seen moderate success with reason 8, and theres a tablet-flavored FL Studio in the windows app store for $10 that i didnt bother to research
Old 3rd December 2014
Lives for gear
I'm not sure what your problem is but my brother runs Sonar 8.03 just fine on his new laptop with Windows 8.1.
Old 3rd December 2014
I've successfully run Ableton Live 9 on a Dell Venue Pro tablet running Windows 8.1. No dongles required... well, except an audio interface!
Old 3rd December 2014
Lives for gear
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alndln View Post
I'm not sure what your problem is but my brother runs Sonar 8.03 just fine on his new laptop with Windows 8.1.
It Simply wouldn't install, but if somebody managed to get it to work I can muck around with it and get my hands dirty, thanks.
Old 3rd December 2014